Encinita’s Election Results: City Council, Mayor


ENCINITAS, CA – The polls are closed in Encinitas, and voters are learning the results of the 2022 California general election.

Scroll to the bottom of this story for real-time San Diego County election results.

Encinitas voters elected a new mayor and two councilmen. Voters also decided on Measure L, which would fund general municipal expenses with a tax on cannabis and hemp businesses.

Find out what’s happening in Encinitaswith free, real-time updates from Patch.

from 11:00 p.m. In Tuesday’s race for mayor, Tony Kranz received more than 50 percent of the vote over the other three candidates, according to early voting results.

Two candidates ran for council in District 3. Joy Lyndes was ahead of Julie Thunder with 55.04 percent to 44.96 percent. Four candidates filed for the District 4 seat. Bruce Ehlers was ahead with 46.04% of the vote.

Find out what’s happening in Encinitaswith free, real-time updates from Patch.

In San Diego County, voters chose a new sheriff and chose incumbents or challengers for two seats on the board of supervisors, among other things.

from 11:00 p.m. On Tuesday, Kelly Martinez edged out former City Attorney John Hemmerling in the race to replace retiring Sheriff Bill Gore. Undersheriff led 58.2 percent to Hemmerling’s 41.7 percent, a margin of more than 70,000 votes, according to early voting results.

In District 4, Board of Supervisors Chairman Nathan Fletcher was challenged by Amy Reichert, a state-licensed researcher who founded Re-Open San Diego, an anti-COVID-19 injunction group. Fletcher led Reichert 65.1 percent to 34.8 percent, according to preliminary results.

In District 5, Supervisor Jim Desmond was challenged by Tiffany Boyd-Hodgson, a small business owner who is director of the Vallecitos Water District. Desmond led Boyd-Hodgson 60.7 percent to 39.2 percent, according to preliminary results.

There were other competitive races in the region. Scroll to the bottom of this story for real-time election results.

With the state’s new universal vote-by-mail system, many voters had already cast their ballots by election day.

More than 580,000 voters in the county had returned mail-in ballots as of 9 a.m. Tuesday, according to the San Diego Registrar of Voters. More than 1.9 million postal ballots were sent to registered voters in the county.

A 60% turnout was expected for the election according to the regional registry office. Turnout for California’s September 2021 gubernatorial recall election was 59.93 percent and 66.42 percent for the November 2018 gubernatorial general election.

When the voter registration closed in October, a total of 1,925,738 voters were registered in the region. Of the registered voters, 799,375 were registered as Democrats, 519,234 were registered as Republicans, 487,197 were registered as no party and 119,932 were registered as other, according to the county registrar’s office.

The rules of replying:

Who are the city council members in San Diego?

City councilors

  • councilor Joe LaCava. District 1…
  • councilor Jennifer Campbell District 2…
  • councilor Stephen Whitburn. District 3…
  • Board President Pro Tem. Monica Montgomery Steppe. District 4…
  • councilor Marni von Wilpert. …
  • councilor Chris Cate. …
  • councilor Raul Campillo. …
  • councilor Vivian Moreno

How many city council members are there in San Diego? The San Diego City Council consists of nine members, each of whom is elected by the city’s nine districts.

Who is the San Diego Council member for District 5?

Councilwoman Marni von Wilpert represents San Diego’s Fifth District, which includes the communities of Black Mountain Ranch, Carmel Mountain Ranch, Miramar Ranch North, Rancho Bernardo, Rancho Encantada (Stonebridge), Rancho Peñasquitos, Saber Springs, San Pasqual, Scripps Ranch and Torrey Highlands . .

Which is correct Councilmember or council member?

It is a word for member of the municipality, even if it is used with the full name of the municipality.

Who is my San Diego City Council member?

Current City Council members are elected from 9 single-member districts and include: Joe LaCava, Jennifer Campbell, Stephen Whitburn, Monica Montgomery, Marni von Wilpert, Chris Cate, Raul Campillo, Vivian Moreno and Sean Elo-Rivera.

How much does a city councilman make in San Diego?

How much does a City Councilor make in San Diego, CA? The salary range for a city councilor job is $35,652 to $57,925 per year in San Diego, CA. Click the filter to view hourly, weekly, bi-weekly, semi-monthly, monthly and yearly City Councilor salaries.

Do any celebrities live in La Jolla?

Do celebrities live in San Diego? As you can see, the question is not about living in La Jolla. For the record, the answer is a resounding YES.

What is the difference between a mayor and a city manager?

A mayor is elected; the city manager is appointed.


Who is the head of the city?

In many countries, the mayor is the highest official in a municipal government, such as a city or town.

Author Profile

Marvin Anderson

Marvin Anderson is a seasoned blogger and entrepreneur known for his sharp analysis of current news and trends. With a background in business and public relations, Marvin offers unique insights that blend industry knowledge with a keen understanding of global affairs. His blog is a hub for thoughtful commentary, where he breaks down complex topics into engaging, accessible content. Marvin’s expertise and approachable style have made him a trusted voice for readers seeking clarity in a cluttered news landscape. Whether it’s through his insightful posts or dynamic public speaking engagements, Marvin is dedicated to enlightening and inspiring his